Ebb and Flow Seen in Tension

Most chess periodicals address this in chess positions with analysis.  Should it not be addressed as a human or natural condition?  My own feeling for what chess education offers is not the moves themselves, but rather the relationship seen in human endeavors. Lest I bore you, an explanation I found for an art of chess play, my own views as well as those of great thinkers.  One such man was Emanuel Lasker.  He, of course, was world chess champion but also a thinker.  He likened chess to life itself, somewhat the way Dr. Aron Nimsowitsch did in his sketches painted from the enormous treatise on chess MY SYSTEM.

My rural life brought joy of knowing the importance of life–plants, animals, the soil and beauty of gardening.  It was also relaxing to feed a worm on a hook and drop it in the dark waters with the expectancy of catching a fish or finding the day with nibbles and little else.  Growing up was a lifetime of memories–some good, some bad but always with a learning curve value within my spirit.

Teaching chess is an art form in itself.  My brother influenced me more with his library of great books on chess and talks we shared over the board.  Lasker was a great thinker and just happened to be great at chess play who not only played the board but also the opposition during his long reign as world champion.  Just what was the quality of chess that attracted such men?  We can learn from what they had to say, and it embodied not only examples of chess positions but also how these men envisioned the art of chess.

An attack in a balanced position bears likeness to a storm.  The clouds hover over a landscape carrying positive and negative electricity unleashing thunder bolts of lightning, downpours of moisture that, in the end, results in a softening of light and beauty yielding a refreshed landscape.  So, too, chess as I have tried for my readers to absorb my beliefs about chess–the game and the play featuring the ups and downs of the struggle.  Therein, lies the ingredients which I put into the development of my square count from both the ups and downs of a chess contest but also a means to which my readers might benefit from undertaking a plan and choice, something my students found frustrating that they could not get the positions the great men and women in chess produced during early instruction.

While I have stated and preached that chess was like life itself, I doubt most might think me just a “chess nut” as one of my teachers quipped.  Yet, from such teachings and exposure, I think to achieve real worth from a study of chess one must in some way discover those elements that become ingrained in the spirit of those who seek its pleasure.

Leave a Reply

