GIVE HOPE THROUGH CHESS

Ever since starting my columns devoted to the area on chess history and values that the game promotes in education and mental health it seems, excepting for sporadic interest by professionals, to address issues placing them before the American public.

FACES  ACROSS  THE  BOARD

Lauren Goodkind is an accomplished class-A player.  She recently took 2nd place in the 2016 California Women State Championship.  She is a full-time chess instructor in the San Francisco Bay area. “I really enjoy seeing my students make progress.”  She has a website, http://www.laurengoodkindchess.com.  When I was growing up, I struggled in school because I was bullied. Playing chess at the club regularly was a positive outlet in my life.”

In 2010, she organized a chess blitz fundraiser for victims of the devastating Haitian earthquake. I enjoyed two-days of blitz chess with the public, raising $400 for UNICEF. (A raffle is a good fund raiser during such an event!!)…My personal goal is to improve my play and inspire more females to play chess.”

###

Jessica Lauser finished right behind Lauren in the event. Sidelined by reduced vision, she completed a bachelor’s degree in history at San Francisco State University and started a master’s program in fraud and forensics, with a goal of working to prevent white-collar crime.  She stops in at the Mechanics Institute where she says the players are feisty and colorful. “What I enjoy most about chess is the sense of camaraderie it brings to those who play.”

By age 12, the word ‘game’ in her vocabulary became synonymous with chess. Despite various physical problems preventing physical sports, she found chess was a sport she could handle and succeed with effort given its practice and study.

###

PALEOLITHIC CHESS TABLES

James Medeiros thinks that wherever parks and basketball hoops are seen, then too, one or more concrete chess board tables should be erected.  Chess is a mind game.  He learned to play from a patient at the John C. Corrigan Mental Health Center in Fall River, Mass. where he worked as a mental health worker.  A nurse employee also played with him.  This town is noted for its granite.  If my art grows, my chess tables will be around long after I am gone.  I want my business to be profitable.  But it can’t be successful if that is all it represents. It is only going to be successful if I die and there are thousands of chess pieces in parks and kids saying, “Check, check, check mate.” That will mean success to me.

When you polish concrete, it becomes fine art. Once you sand it up to about 3000 grit, it becomes polished.  Then I put a sealant into it and coatings of epoxy to really make it shine!  And it can be tailored any way you want. He hopes he can find corporate sponsors.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

