Don’s Comic Attempt

Well, it really wasn’t an attempt; I was really given a column in the bank newsletter.  It came about this way.  I always thought how small people’s size might effect their daily life.  It was accepted by the editor as a regular feature having submitted a number of cartoons in which I used a teller (Miss Jones), her cage and a customer of small size as a cartoon base.  It appeared popular.  But then it died.  Why?  Well, that is a story in itself. During a lunch break, the young lady was the editor had tears in her eyes and she told me that my cartoon feature was being scrapped.  Guess the idea  of some bigshot exec did not like the idea of my making fun of little people was how I perceived it. It always carried a message of how little people functioned to get by in their banking needs.

This whole episode in my life I sort of forgot about.  Who cares anyway?  But then I got to thinking and you don’t want this old head to start thinking, do you?

Well, it reminds me of what goes on in Washington, DC and in company organizations from both past,  present and likely to continue for eternity.  You see, I don’t ridicule how people look or behave.  I see the good, the bad, and the ugly–not in people but social norms handed out like free, sweet watermelon having to spit out the pits.  The whole mess is housed in the rind.  That is what I mean by the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Like any try to achieve something worthwhile, my heading “Little People” had to be viewed by someone in the organization as taboo.  And that runs right into this whole damn political crap in Washington, DC.  Truth of what a candidate says or means, no matter how clear, is cursed by spite and hatreds.  We can no longer be truth tellers but must convey the pomp of the elite establishment, their ultra-modern political correctness phony-boloney seen and met at every level where right is never acknowledged in the purest sense because government and journalists have capitulated to the lowest denominator.  In my short above commentary, a great bank lost a competent employee who quit instead living under a phony belief that she had charge of her department. I would like to think her tears led to a clear lighted highway and bright future.

We are in danger, not of losing our freedoms, but rather the loss of what a great naval leader once said:  Damned the torpedoes!  Full speed ahead.  That sense of greatness has been blunted by folks who have no skill at leadership and will to win.

Leave a Reply

