The Wonder of Great Books

My library is huge.  It is loaded with many books from classics of much variety.  Being largely self-taught, I had a thirst for knowledge that encompassed the whole of human existence.

My website conveys that totality.  What is such value since no sheepskin adorns my study walls?  I sense of course that my readers might say I missed the boat.  But for me, education is the enrichment of the soul–the total human spirit and ever growing enlightenment to learn ever more.

One such great book in my library is rare.  Sailing on the Ice is a collection of 28  stories from the Old Squire’s Farm, writings of C. A. Stephens, compiled and edited by Charles G. Waugh and Larry Glatz.

C. A. Stephens was a prolific historian writer, publishing more than 2500 stories and 31 books in the late 1800s and early 1900s.  A master storyteller, he wrote for the famed children’s magazine, The Youth’s Companion which ceased publication in 1929.  The book jacket notes that folks write to the librarian in Norway, Maine, or visit to inquire of the whereabouts of the Old Squire’s farm whatever happened to Addison and Theodora.

I have to give appreciation to Rutledge Hill Press, Nashville, Tenn. for enabling and bringing this book to market.

The rich stories coming out of the Civil War era and after depicts the life of those times in wonderful stories that I encourage my readers to partake.  It was a time before movies, radio, TV, I-phones, etc. that the Hartford Daily Courant said of it: “Some of the very best stories of New England life and character that have ever been written.”

2 Responses to “The Wonder of Great Books”

  1. local seo expert Says:

    What’s up mates, its great article on the topic of tutoringand fully
    defined, keep it up all the time.

  2. Eugene Says:

    Undeniably believe that that you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be
    on the net the simplest factor to bear in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while other people
    think about concerns that they just don’t understand about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out
    the whole thing without having side effect , other people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

