Kindred’s Special: Playing Chess Using Square Count

In the sixties I had helped Ed Frumkin become a USCF tournament director.  I had experimented with a number of different time controls as a member of NYSCA and USCF Regional Director testing for Edmondson various event time controls.  The problem had been that chess was becoming very popular as well as organized chess in general.  What was the effect of a shorter time to play a whole game?  The result would show a method to overcome weekend Swiss tournaments where the usual 40/2 or 50/2 would sometimes cause problems for directors scheduling the next rounds.  Occasionally some games would not end and it was hard on the players involved, having sometimes to miss a meal or get a break before the next round.  I had instituted a series called the Tornado event, with a fee of $1.00 for 3 games.  It was to build up our club treasury so prize funds for weekend events run by our club could be guaranteed.  I had added $300 of my own to help that guarantee until the funds from the tornado events was realized.  We raised the entry fees for the Swiss events from $5 to $10 and this actually stimulated entries seeing a steady upward trend.  To advertise in CHESS LIFE economically, I had the events run on the fourth Saturday of each month for the tornado events.  It made the cost of advertising and reminding players who joined the tornado series without requiring special notice by the club other than the club bulletin board.  A tornado scheduled at the same time as a regional event (Swiss) would not take place.  Eddie suggested holding some additional weekend local club events.  All of these became very popular but still left time on Saturday for regular club sessions.  Our club grew from 14 to over 60 and in time it grew to over 100 members requiring negotiating with the YMCA for use of Todd Hall or an additional room on our second floor meetings.  Dr. Erich W. Marchand was our club president and a much praised chess leader both at home and nationally.

The following game I present here was from Eddie’s cyclone events.  He directed these events and gave me time to play rather than play as well as direct which I had done until USCF changed the rules where TDs were not permitted to compete.

White:  Dr. Erich W. Marchand  vs. Black:  Donald P. Reithel    Reti Opening  Cyclone 2.

1. N-KB3  P-Q4 /  2. P-B4  P-K3 /

Hoping for 3. P-Q4 so I could play my favorite Slav defensive setup. The next was new to me.

3. P-QN3  P-Q5  /  4. B-N2   P-QB4  /  5. P-QN4  N-QB3 /  6. P-N5  N-K2 /  7. P-K3  P:P / 8. BP:P  N/1-B3 /  9. N-B3  P-QN3  / 10. B-K2  B-N2 /  11. O-O  Q-B2 /  12. Q-B2  N-N3. /

I thought a few minutes if not more before making this move.  During the previous couple turns available and seemed good to me was playing for P-QR4.  After my move, I saw a glitter and a brief smile on his face.  After a little thought, he played what I, too, considered as a kind of trap which included a sacrifice.

13. N-N5  B-Q3 /

Avoiding an impulsive 13. … P-KR3?  14. N:KP P:N, 15. Q:N+ and haste would be punished.  Erich decides his sortie was unwise so retreats.  But notice that Black has benefitted by an increased square count.  This is my lesson plan for playing chess toward improvement in skill.

14. N-B3  P-KR4 /

Adding another square to my count.

15. P-K4  N-N5 / 16. P-K5  N/3:KP /

Apparently a pawn-sac to gain room and get his Knight into the fray.  As I recall he spent a lot of time on this position and move sequence.

17. N-K4  N:N+/  18. B:N  B:P+/  19. K-R1 .

He rose to walk around and view some other games.  Suggesting that he was pleased with his position.  I spend several minutes looking at 19. … B-N8 which appeared on the surface to be a set up for one of my brilliant concepts.  But I just could not see a way to finish him off.  So,

19. …. B-K4 /

I thought up the possibility for a superior endgame with not an over difficult line without much risk or time problems.  When he returned to the board, I picked up the Bishop and screwed into the K4 square just to let him know I was not going to be enticed.

20. P-N3  B:B  /  21. Q:B  B:N / 22. B:B  Q:P  23.  B-B6+  K-K2  24. P-Q3  QR-Q1!/

This was the position I envisioned at move 20.  I felt the trades had strengthened my position and his King had few clothes.

25.  R-B3  Q-R5+  26. K-N1  R-Q5

Reducing White’s square count by cutting off the diagonal.

27. R/1-KB1  N-K4  28. R/1-B2  R-R3  29. B-K4  N:P  30. R:P+  K-Q3  31. Q-R2  Q:Q+ 32. K:Q  R:B  33. R-Q1  R-Q5 / 34. R:NP  R-B3 / 35. R-N3    N-B7/

White’s pieces have lost energy.

36. R-K1  N-N5+/  37. K-R3  R-Q7/  38. R-N2 R:R  /  39. K:R  R-B7+  /  40. K-N3  R:P / 41. K-B4  R-B7 / 42.  R-QR1  R:P+ / 43. K-N5  R-N5 / 44. K:P  N-B3+/ 45. K-N6  N-Q4 / 46. R:P  P-B5/

White resigned.

I  placed first. Mr. Frumkin returned to the east coast and active in organizing, directing and playing when the opportunity allows.

Leave a Reply

