A Wealth Exists in My Library

I have many great books in my library that I have read or referenced, wishing to relive a topic relevant to my own current column by seeking out a special paragraph or chapter that I had reflected upon as words being of considerable weight and wisdom and useful as a guide in my own thinking.  These books have a variety of values and touch on things that have over the many years been a factor in my character makeup.  It surprises me to more than once find such materials being like fresh air.  I can only attribute this to a deeper understanding of such text writing.  Were it otherwise, I confess my development as a human being might never been so challenged to grow in maturity.

The age factor has been penned by many thinkers.  It would be foolish of me to ask you to rehash what you probably likewise have read or been privy to in your own life adventures.  I have gone out on a limb so-to-speak addressing my thoughts regarding such modern techniques of chess study as many have come to rely on computer technology and its vast growth in literary works that previously was not possible, if not unheard of, given the early efforts in chess programming.

The recent victory and interview in Chessbase with Carlsen who retains his world title against Anand gives support to my contentions concerning the use of computers in opening analysis.  I find his comments refreshing and totally in contrast to what many commentators have said concerning his preparation and play.  If you recall, I have written in the past that a big asset for serious players is to rediscover older chess books and theories relying on personal ideas using one’s brainpower instead of that from computer influence.  That is my oft-times suggestion of creating a plan from move one.  And to a degree, he seems to have revived that long lost element to winning chess.

It is reasonable to assume that an over abundance of thought patterns and specific computer analysis can create havoc on dumbing down the whole concept of one’s creativity.  An active mind is a chess by-product.  Use it!

Leave a Reply

