Kindred’s Special: Don’t Listen to the Little Woman and Be Sorry Everafter

On August 13th 2008 I ventured up my ladder and climbed unto the roof.  My better-half, my darling wife warned me: “Don’t you dare get on the roof at your age.”  Well, this old man knew best, having climbed ladders from the time I was just a wee lad.  Well, I think you get where I am going with this.  I fell.  I fell hard.  At the hospital emergency where the ambulance that rushed me from a neighbor calling 911, the surgeon doctor who saw me informed me that I had a smashed tibia bone just below the knee.  This is 2014 and while I survived nearly a three-month nursing home care and therapist who I wasn’t sure if he was trying to cure me or kill me.   Today I still have to use a cane per my primary care doctor’s insistence.

Years before retiring from the bank a friend of mine who worked in the mailroom told me that he was fretful about his kids’ future prospects beyond high school despite both he and his wife working.  I said this is America; you have the military option: marines, navy, air force, army and merchant marines as good prospects as well a trade school or apprentice program.  A lot of young people think Kodak for example.  But then I got a bright idea for him a couple of days later when we sort of resumed thoughts along those scary lines.  I figured he was overly worried.  I had myself been researching various companies and had bought one that was promising that made and serviced electronic scoreboards for major sport arenas and that I had gotten lucky finding it and making an investment which their reports to me looked like a  gold mine.  So, you guessed it–the old man told him about it.  I think the price was about seven dollars a share so I encouraged him to buy one hundred shares and just sock it away until his kids got out of high school.  I told him not to even tell his wife.

It was years later that I saw him at a McDonald’s after I had retired.  He was taking some kids in a van bus on a YMCA or Christian camp outing.  I said, ” You must be really happy having seen your stock I picked out for you!  It split many times and just near it’s all time high right now. I would sell it now; your kids will have a really nice nest egg.  Well, he looked mortified.  “Don,” said he, “a few days after I bought it I told my wife because I never keep secrets from her.  She discovered the price had fallen a little and she raised the roof with me about it, making me sell it.  I lost huh?” I did not let him know how much.

Yep, folks! Leave it to the wisdom of the LITTLE WOMAN.  I guess in the long run of things, they do know best.  Don’t they??

8 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: Don’t Listen to the Little Woman and Be Sorry Everafter”

  1. indigestion symptoms Says:

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  2. allergy shots Says:

    Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  3. diabetic supplies Says:

    I think the admin of this site is actually working hard in support of his web page, for the reason that here every information is quality based stuff.

  4. gold quotes Says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and the rest of the site is extremely good.

  5. シチズンプロマスター Says:

    The 12 MostOutrageous bag Secrets-and-cheats… And The Ways To Make use of them

  6. Helena Says:

    Note: Bowl committee would not disclose additional details about participants’ gifts. Picture 1That way, if things go wrong, no damage is done to your story blog, and you can continue playing around with your settings until you’ve got everything just right.

  7. hermes handbags birkin Says:

    hermes bags collection 18 clothing Kindred’s Special: Don’t Listen to the Little Woman and Be Sorry Everafter | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  8. louboutin Says:

    “Right at this point, there are several 100 mil money regarding suggestions on the market above your price range desires,In Sobanet claimed. “We are hanging around on the Drive estimate, that can impart us with a final assistance to barter where each of the charges will need to wait.Inches [url=http://www.wvje.org/concern.php?p=oakley-sunglasses]oakley sunglasses[/url]
    – a household favorite [url=http://www.wvje.org/concern.php?p=oakley-twenty]oakley twenty[/url]
    More than 4 decades previously, Frank Pook built his / her case on the metropolis to keep a significant automobile battle inside roadways of Very long Beach front, a thought in which spawned your Prolonged Beachfront Lavish Corrt and changed the style in addition to visibility with the metropolis. [url=http://www.kickask.com/sponsors.php?p=louis-vuitton-cheap]louis vuitton cheap[/url]
    The person who ended up being briefing A2z tony Bannon, Structured, who’d any junior lawyer and also a legal professional along, might not obtain much vary from $7000 daily. It absolutely was before long says Mister Bannon has been representing Senator Arthur Sinodinos. oakley boardshorts
    Letters of approximately 190 terms as well as

Leave a Reply

