Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola

Les Roselle was co-founder of Knights of the Square Table (NOST), a small club that featured various chess variants, checkers, additional board and card games. Many if not most of the membership was MENSA.  He was a warm and cordial gentle leader who created the cartoon CHESSTER and also the computer he named CHESSTER.  He presented in the pages of the NOST magazine, NOSTALGIA , a poem by an inmate who Les had befriended and had played Chesster the Pawn, Les’ computer.  I  thought I would share it because it has value for critical thought and gives words and truth from the heart of the composer.  Regrettably NOST has passed into the history books of dead wood after Mr. Roselle passed away.  It is one of the great tragedies that this fine organization found its membership also crawling into the pages of history and lost skills so often displayed in NOSTALGIA.

CHESSMAN OF ANGOLA

My past is but a dream, a thing so unreal

Or so it seems, so my past must be sealed.

I’ll look back with sorrow at my wasted tomorrows,

That I threw away, thinking only of today.

It is as though I didn’t exist, like a shadow in the mist.

I’ve lived a past of sin that I don’t wish to remember again.

I loved everybody I happened to meet but then gave up in defeat,

For none could love such as me, a born chooser of tragedy.

And, if they did, then without a doubt,

I took their love and threw it out.

I was a roamer traveling the land seeking thrills wherever I could,

Living by the gun in my hand, bleeding the blood of a proud man.

Of the things I did I shudder to think,

From the deep wells of hell I took a drink.

I had money, cars and women, breaking hearts without a thought,

Because I just didn’t care about all the hurt I brought.

For I had fame and everyone knew my name.

I did what others wanted to do.

I dared and did and liked it, too.

But now the past is dead, I just want to get it out of my head.

I’m looking for a new start– a tomorrow where love can fill my heart!

My running days are over, I’ve paid my debt to sin.

For now I’ve found a friend,

Who opened his heart and showed me how to win.

 

45 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola”

  1. https://www.pinpointdis.com Says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.
    Many thanks

  2. Assassin's Creed 4 Black Flag Trainer Says:

    I am not sure where you are getting your info, but
    great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more
    or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking
    for this information for my mission.

  3. inbox blueprint bonus Says:

    If you are doing your roof yourself, work on it when it
    is sunny and dry outside. Would a be the solution to your transportation problems.
    Various contractors offered me 30-year, 50-year and
    even lifetime shingles.

  4. wpprofitmagnet.tumblr.com Says:

    Just like other roofs, insulating flat roof systems need enough ventilation, sealing bypasses,
    and installing vapor barriers. Would a be the solution to your transportation problems.
    The make up artist at Galway specializes in the bridal make up therapy
    and it is known to the best in its class.

  5. http://www.inboxblueprinted.com/ Says:

    If you are doing your roof yourself, work on it when it
    is sunny and dry outside. If you have attic rooms or have had a loft conversion, efficient insulation is an
    absolute must. The make up artist at Galway specializes
    in the bridal make up therapy and it is known to the best in its class.

  6. g-ate Says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting. “The world is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be only the beginning.” by George Baker.
    g-ate http://www.g-ate.com/

  7. www.cnxlzg.com Says:

    Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.
    http://www.cnxlzg.com http://www.cnxlzg.com/

  8. 名刺入れ 人気 Says:

    Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, appreciate it. “A man does not die of love or his liver or even of old age he dies of being a man.” by Percival Arland Ussher.
    名刺入れ 人気 http://www.dorlasco.com/クロエ-chloe-名刺入れ-japan-4.html

  9. バイク グローブ おすすめ Says:

    Merely wanna comment on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the written content is rattling wonderful. “I delight in men over seventy. They always offer one the devotion of a lifetime.” by Oscar Fingall O’Flahertie Wills Wilde.
    バイク グローブ おすすめ http://www.omt-net.com/グローブ-japan-5.html

  10. シーバイクロエ キーリング Says:

    I regard something really interesting about your website so I bookmarked .
    シーバイクロエ キーリング http://www.dorlasco.com/クロエ-chloe-キーリング-japan-1.html

  11. グローブ オーダー Says:

    Its fantastic as your other posts : D, thanks for posting . “Slump I ain’t in no slump… I just ain’t hitting.” by Yogi Berra.
    グローブ オーダー http://www.tx-dir.com/硬式グラブ-japan-3.html

  12. blog365.info Says:

    Some genuinely excellent articles on this web site , appreciate it for contribution.
    blog365.info http://www.blog365.info/

  13. リュック Says:

    I really like your writing style, good information, regards for putting up : D.
    リュック http://www.g-ate.com/デイパックバックパック-japan-1.html

  14. バイク ボックス Says:

    I went over this internet site and I conceive you have a lot of great information, bookmarked (:.
    バイク ボックス http://www.cnxlzg.com/リアボックス-japan-3.html

  15. wpprofitmagnet Says:

    In addition of these a conservatory room has an awesome
    experience of utilizing extra space by constituent rooms. Among this is the metal
    roof which in the earlier years is one of the high priced roofing products used in America and
    in Europe. Various contractors offered me 30-year,
    50-year and even lifetime shingles.

  16. バッテリー人気 Says:

    Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.
    バッテリー人気 http://www.macslice.info/バイク 用品-japan-8.html

  17. キャリーバッグ Says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting .
    キャリーバッグ http://www.sweet-pets.com

  18. skip trace Says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something
    like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to
    your new updates.

  19. inbox blueprint Says:

    In addition of these a conservatory room has an awesome experience of utilizing extra space by constituent rooms.
    Why struggle for space in your van when the answers lies
    up above, courtesy of Rhino Roof Bars. This brief is to help homeowners learn
    how to estimate the costs of replacing their roofs.

  20. wholesale bags Says:

    Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  21. ニューバランス スニーカー Says:

    Perfectly composed subject material, regards for information. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.
    ニューバランス スニーカー http://goo.gl/pSHhgI

  22. コールマン レジャーシート Says:

    I gotta favorite this web site it seems very helpful very helpful
    コールマン レジャーシート http://goo.gl/kVbtBm

  23. 軟式野球ボール Says:

    Keep up the wonderful piece of work, I read few content on this site and I believe that your website is very interesting and contains lots of superb info .
    軟式野球ボール http://goo.gl/hM8BKN

  24. ナイキダンクsb Says:

    I think you have mentioned some very interesting points , thanks for the post.
    ナイキダンクsb http://goo.gl/sgbNGS

  25. 駆動系 Says:

    You have remarked very interesting points! ps decent web site.
    駆動系 http://www.kleotur.info/jb23jb33jb43-japan-29.html

  26. テニスウエア Says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for posting .
    テニスウエア http://www.glazurnik.biz/ウエア-japan-10.html

  27. セーター メンズ Says:

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!
    セーター メンズ http://www.x7h.biz/products_all.html

  28. Homepage Says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Informations here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/kindreds-special-chessman-of-angola/ […]

  29. URL Says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] There you will find 29534 more Infos: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/kindreds-special-chessman-of-angola/ […]

  30. Car Detailing Miami Beach Says:

    Buffered vitamin C is just soooo incredibly valuable with respect to testosterone production for two
    reasons:. Whilst they do not completely block the light, they
    allow you to soften it during the day so that you can still enjoy the sunlight
    without it being too bright or harsh. They’re easy to install on almost
    any flat surface using nails, screws or glue.

  31. kalkulator oc Says:

    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.

    • kindredspiritks Says:

      I write articles almost daily. The Knights of the Square Table (NOST) was started by Les Roselle of Penfield, NY and made up of mostly MENSA members. It was a games league offering numerous invented games by its members as well as most strategic games like GO, chess variants, and miscellaneous others. I write poetry but this one was by a member who Les knew from game play and apparently was instrumental helping change his life around. Les was like that./ Don.

  32. Google Says:

    Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine some unrelated data, nonetheless definitely worth taking a look, whoa did one particular understand about Mid East has got a lot more problerms at the same time.

  33. Google Says:

    The time to study or go to the material or sites we’ve linked to beneath.

  34. Gaylord Prestipino Says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. Ill certainly return.

  35. replica celine phantom luggage Says:

    celine replica luggage bag Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  36. Wm Lermond Says:

    My exceptional instructed us to look for website pages that discuss armer26p when i unintentionally uncovered your web site and go through ALIEN SPACESHIPS TO Assault EARTH IN NOVEMBER 2012!. I’m seriously impressed along with your remarkable put up!

  37. purple hermes handbags Says:

    hermes bags celebrities mansions Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  38. portable induction cooktop Says:

    Very nice article, totally what I needed.

  39. handbags online sale Says:

    hermes bags amazon river map Kindred’s Special: Chessman of Angola | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  40. astrologie 2014 Says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] There you will find 96232 more Infos: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/kindreds-special-chessman-of-angola/ […]

  41. Noella Says:

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date information.

  42. personalized gifts for new baby boy Says:

    I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

  43. youtube.com Says:

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled
    upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely helpful and it
    has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid different
    users like its helped me. Good job.

  44. ultrasonic oil diffuser Says:

    I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I am going to
    bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once
    per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

