KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage

I am asked just what square count holds out for the opening phase of the opening, any opening, and how does it set the tone for competing effectively in an imbalanced struggle?  To show some samples from major tournaments how openings do indeed find square count valuable is herewith my attempt by reviewing some openings as played by the elite of the chess world.  It is my attempt to illustrate strategy for both sides for my readers who I hope will benefit by my teaching from move 1 recognizing that you are not a chess machine but should let you begin to grasp what good planning adds to your enjoyment of chess play by these examples chosen at random.  There is a word of warning.  Opening variations as played by these elite may well find ways to improve game play or find a variation losing its flavor merely by inciting  new ideas to try.

1. d4  d5   2. c4  c6  3.  Nc3  Nf6  4. e3  e6  5. Nf3  Nbd7  6. Qc2  Bd6  7. g4

This was a relatively new idea by White that by offering to sacrifice this pawn White will benefit from the open file. Black accepts the challenge.

7. … Nxg4  8. Rg1  Nxh2  9. Nxh2  Bxh2 10. Rxg7  Nf8  11. Rg2  Bd6 

What should White do now with s/c in mind?

12. e4

This opens up the diagonal for the Bishop, pressures the center which increases s/c. Black now activates the N with gain in s/c.

12. … Ng6  13. Bg5!  Be7  14. Bxe7  Qxe7  15. O-O-O  dxe4

On 15. … dxc4  16. Bxc4  Bd7  17. e5  Nh4  18. Rh2  O-O-O  19. Ne4  Nf5  20. Be2 and White is better.

16. Nxe4  f5  17. Nd2

What is a good strategic plan for White? The N retreat should give you a clue.  One try for Black would be 17… Bd7 (develop) 18. c5  O-O-O  19. Nc4  Kb8  20, Nd6  Nf4  21. Rg3 with good chances.

17. …c5  18. dxc5  Bd7   19. b4 O-O-O

Here Black misses the opportunity to play what s/c move?   19. … a5! 20. b5  Qxc5 and doesn’t s/c point to a better idea?  Castles looks risky because White appears to be launching a Queenside attack.  White now plans to play the Rook to the Q-side.

20. Rg3  e5!

I am a rat.  I want you to think.  Some good ideas are possible in this opening variation.  Good training.  Do you still think me a rat for leaving you in this whirlwind position with both sides slugging it out?  Chess is such a fun game!!

This is one example where I hope you start to see the value of my s/c theory.  Perhaps for the elite players who can spend hours on their chess study, my theory is not viewed highly probably but a way for any amateur or beginner to play an intelligent game with some practice.  I hope this occasional look on this series will give you food for thought in planning your own game moves and anticipate that of your opponent.  Clarity helps and that is basically what square-count offers me and hopefully will you as well as we walk the road to good chessmanship.

15 Responses to “KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage”

  1. united states of america national basketball association cycling tops reference or resource Says:

    …Awesome website

    […]you make blogging glance[…]

  2. seo company new york Says:

    Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

  3. www.schweizerweinecke.ch Says:

    Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  4. authentic hermes handbags Says:

    scucbzfz KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope ntwyjpyaze

  5. świetliki dachowe Says:

    Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your web site by accident, and
    I am surprised why this accident didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it. świetliki dachowe

  6. http://www.Pioneertube.com/BQZFederi Says:

    Hi, every time i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the dawn, as i love to learn
    more and more.

  7. louis vuitton outlet usa Says:

    louis vuitton outlet store online reviews KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope
    louis vuitton outlet usa http://www.mikehaun.com

  8. authentic hermes outlet Says:

    cheap louis vuitton handbags outlet KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope
    authentic hermes outlet http://www.fashionpaper.org

  9. cheap louis vuitton online outlet Says:

    louis vuitton handbags outlet reviews KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  10. parajumpers danmark Says:

    Thank you a lot for providing individuals with such a breathtaking opportunity to discover important secrets from here. It really is very pleasurable plus jam-packed with a lot of fun for me and my office co-workers to search your website particularly 3 times a week to read through the new guides you have. Of course, I am also always satisfied considering the splendid knowledge served by you. Certain two facts in this post are ultimately the most beneficial I’ve had.
    parajumpers danmark http://www.chvin.dk/cgi-bin/pjs17.asp

  11. Velva Bowey Says:

    IDNX is something that has been missing for sometime now. Excellent looking out, Thies Lindenthal

  12. hermes handbags holland Says:

    hermes kelly bag shop online KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  13. hermes constance fake 2 Says:

    cheap replica designer diaper bags KindredSpirit’s Fighting Chess In the Opening Stage | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  14. Chess Openings Says:

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog.
    He was entirely right. This submit truly made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for
    this info! Thank you!

  15. Keven Olivio Says:

    Congratulations to Chelsea on winning the FA Cup.

Leave a Reply

