KindredSpirit’s Kaleidoscope: ILLUSIONARY DELIGHTS IN HUMOR, by D. Reithel, Ontario, NY 14519

Over the years I have come across lots of chess characters, people I think back on that I would have preferred not having played.  Not that I hate them, it is just the mannerisms that left me feeling somewhat victimized by cruel and unusual punishment.  You may have experienced such players because I fear human behavior is not subject to regionalism alone where most of my chess adventures took place.

Who and what makes these folks different from the normal run-of-the-mill good folks who come to chess tournaments? I am, after all, a kind and gentle soul whose vigorous spirit lets me play like a master one-round and a duffer in the next.  Here is a classification of four types that make my liver shiver. One is the player who corners you after a well-played battle and informs you that you missed a winning combo, letting him off the hook.  He grabs your arm, hauls you to a vacated table where he sets up the position to prove his point and demonstrates how you could have won it. Little time is left before the next round to grab a bite to eat and wash it down, or to close your eyes for a brief rest.  Thus, you end up weary, unhappy to see you missed your chance and could strangle him for abusing your deflated ego even more.  Another case is the player whose hand is hovering over a piece for many seconds and with me in time trouble.  Naturally I use his time to look around where he can move his piece when suddenly he chooses another piece to move which psychologically destroys my mental powers to dumbness, costing me valuable time before I can recoup my thoughts.  The worst culprit is the guy who has a bulge in his sport coat pocket and excuses himself to go to the loo.  Yep, you can bet he is sitting on top of the waterhole busily checking out the theoretical ploys in his opening manual.  Finally, there is the fellow who uses what I call the clock trick; this guy may be the most devious actor.  It happens after I move and press my clock and when I get up to move about, stretch my legs and get a drink, I see him, head in hands, a wipe of his brow, rubbing his chin, his hair messed up, squirming on his britches, shaking his head, looking at his scoresheet. That is when you notice the button on top has your clock ticking away valuable seconds. Returning to the board, you notice that he had moved as soon as you had left the table and his antics were nothing but a charade.  His sheepish look on his face tells it all.

                                                                                                                  LECTURE  HUMOR–LASKER STYLE

Emmauel Lasker was world champion for 27 years and he noted that he was active during the world champion reigns of Steinitz, Capablanca, Alekhine, Euwe, and again, Alekhine.

Once he recalled that no player thoroughly understood the Queen Pawn openings.  The trouble is you can have a very strong position only to suddenly be awakened to discover you have a totally lost position.  After losing a game to Schlechter, the famous drawing master, he remarked that what he noted in his lecture still held!

Every serious chessplayer knows that Lasker favored the exchange variation in the Ruy Lopez (4. Bxc6).  One of his unfortunate comments was that the first player must be an awful duffer to lose a game using that attack..  He did so himself and  commented: “My loss proves the rule that I laid down at that time.”

26 Responses to “KindredSpirit’s Kaleidoscope: ILLUSIONARY DELIGHTS IN HUMOR, by D. Reithel, Ontario, NY 14519”

  1. URL Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  2. Artistic Designer Says:

    Fantastic Sites…

    […]this is absolutely fantastic, added your site to my list[…]…

  3. Selina Novell Says:

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Kudos

  4. electrician melbourne Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  5. website Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  6. ex vriendin terug Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  7. Concert limo service Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 68055 more Infos: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  8. nootropic Says:

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  9.   Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  10. ahh bra Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  11. bottom Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kindredspiritks.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/kindredspirits-kaleidoscope-illusionary-delights-in-humor-by-d-reithel-ontario-ny-14519-9722/ […]…

  12. Carina Says:

    i always share your sites post with my friends. keep posting and i will follow you…http://www.machware.com

  13. About Various kinds of Dresses Says:

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  14. wedding dress lyrics az Says:

    You have brought up a very fantastic points , appreciate it for the post.

  15. bridal gowns northern va Says:

    I think that is among the such a lot vital information for me. And i¡¯m satisfied reading your article. However want to observation on few general issues, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is actually excellent : D. Good activity, cheers

  16. Vi Taliferro Says:

    I view something truly special in this website.

  17. article directory Says:

    Very good info can be found on this web site.

  18. katy perry Photos Says:

    I have read some of the articles on your own website today, and I enjoy your style of blogging. I included it in order to my favorites web log list and you will be checking rear soon. Please take a look at my site also and allow me to know what we think.

  19. incontinence Says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  20. wedding dresses sacramento Says:

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in reality used to be a entertainment account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  21. rent cocktail dresses Says:

    I have read some of the articles on your own website today, and I enjoy your style of blogging. I included it in order to my favorites web log list and you will be checking rear soon. Please take a look at my site also and allow me to know what we think.

  22. Royce Turpen Says:

    Generally I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

  23. how to find the beautiful dress Says:

    Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I¡¯ll be subscribing on your augment and even I fulfillment you get entry to consistently fast.

  24. authentic hermes outlet Says:

    louis vuitton outlet real bags KindredSpirit’s Kaleidoscope: ILLUSIONARY DELIGHTS IN HUMOR, by D. Reithel, Ontario, NY 14519 | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope
    authentic hermes outlet http://www.fashionpaper.org

  25. hermes denmark Says:

    hermes outlet online KindredSpirit’s Kaleidoscope: ILLUSIONARY DELIGHTS IN HUMOR, by D. Reithel, Ontario, NY 14519 | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

Leave a Reply

