Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns

Oddly enough chess writers and games by both amateurs and the era-elite players show a great respect for the lowly pawn sometimes accorded the lackluster but romantic name “peon” suggesting it has little import in the social circles of both minor pieces (Knights and Bishops) and major pieces (Rooks [Castles] and Kings and Queens. So that some semblance of power for exchange purposes when such captures came up, a numerical number was given each to give an evaluation of the pro and con of such exchange offerings. To further clarify such captures, even exchanges was expressed as an “exchange”; the writers felt it important to differentiate between minor and major piece exchanges or where a major piece was involved. Thus, the term “the Exchange” referred to a major piece, the Rook or Queen being involved with either a pawn or minor piece of Knight or Bishop in trade.

Thus, for many years a bit of debate popped up now and then over the valuations.  For myself, it always seemed to me to have an artificial taste when giving or getting the standard formula common in the books–pawn 1,  Knight 3,  Bishop 3, Rook 5, Queen 9 and King 0 as related for exchange purposes only.  My explanation for arriving at my own viewpoint and evaluation has been given elsewhere.  Personally, I think it more appropo and possessing much clearer understanding of the reality of positions arising where pawns and pieces meet in conflict to utilize my assessed valuation:  Pawn 2, Knight 6,  Bishop 8, Rook 14, Queen 22, King 6.  The point of these numbers refer to freedom of movement as means for determining their real strength in open positions. It always seemed to me that the old view was simply too sterile to what existed in the position.  If one examines the book view long established, the whole remains as a piece of wood!   My thoughts go more to the dynamics of pieces and pawns on the board; how they effect squares overall and inidividual location should determine such consideration when examining the fruits of an even exchange or sacrifice having sufficient power to be weighed as feasible.

The following game merits your attention to witness the expanding power of advanced pawns.  The closer to the promotion square, the more threatening.  So grab hold of your seats for a very entertaining ride through the pages of history!

White:  Alexander McDonnell   vs.   Black:  Lois Labourdonnais  Opening:  Sicilian Defence   London  1834.

McDonnell (1798-1835) was from Belfast and considered among the elite of the British chess power.  Likewise, Labourdonnais was among the elite of France which was long thought to be the chess power in Europe and likely the world of chess of those times.  There was no title for world champion and in those days long past, it was enough to be known as the best player in the country.

1. e4  c5  2. Nf3  Nc6  3. d4  cxd4  4. Nxd4  e5  5. Nxc6  The alternative 5. Nb5 is considered best today.  One might ask just what is wrong with this exchange?  Lets take a look. The pawn must recapture, half-opening the b-file but most important is to bring another pawn toward building a strong center.

5. … bxc6  6. Bc4  Nf6  7. Bg5  Be7  8. Qe2  One can invision a coming…. Ba6 snatching up space and square count.  Better plays existed; perhaps 8. Bxf6  Bxf6 9. Nc3 or 8. Nc3 >Bxf6.

8. … d5  9. Bxf6  Bxf6  10. Bb3  O-O  11. O-O  a5!  12. exd5  cxd5  13. Rd1  d4  14. c4  The right pawn but the wrong square.  Maybe 14. c3 looks more solid to try for some central restraint.

14. … Qb6  15. Bc2  Bb7  16. Nd2 Rae8  With the long range plan of advancing the e-f file pawns and hinder good squares for White’s pieces.

17. Ne4  Bd8  18. c5  Qc6  19. f3  Be7  20. Rac1  f5  21. Qc4+  Kh8  22. Ba4 Qb6  23. Bxe8  fxe4  24. c6  exf3!  25. Rc2  Trying to salvage something from the position;  25. cxb7?  Qe3+ 26. Kh1 fxg2+ 27. Kxg2 Rf2+  28. Kg1 Re2+ 29. Kh1 Qf3+ 30. Kg1 Qg2 checkmate!

25. … Qe3+ 26. Kh1 Bc8  27. Bd7  f2  28. Rf1 d3  29. Rc3  Bxd7  30. cxd7  e4  31. Qc8  Bd8  32. Qc4  Qe1  33. Rc1  d2  Here we come–ready or not!!

34. Qc5  Rg8  35. Rd1  e3  36. Qc3  Qxd1  37. Rxd1  e2  White resigns. (0-1).

I often use this game for showing how the wood pieces truly give life to spirited play. If you study the game carefully and try to see what different ideas you can come up with to try, it should give you good practice and soar the spirit to the stars.

31 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns”

  1. Philips Sonicare HX6972/10 Says:

    Hi there Dear, are you truly visiting this site on a regular basis, if
    so afterward you will without doubt take pleasant experience.

  2. mercurial vapor Says:

    You made some decent factors there. I appeared on the web for the difficulty and found most individuals will go together with along with your website.

  3. mercurial safari Says:

    you have got an awesome blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  4. Lizbeth Nation Says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

    • kindredspiritks Says:

      My dear Lizbeth, thanks for your interpretation of my writing. I assure you that my motive was to simply inspire you to see the joy of a noble game and how wood pieces when active on the board of 64 squares can find birth and give the reader some enjoyable moments from a hectic work day. All I can add is,
      ENJOY./dON.

  5. Charissa Nagel Says:

    This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

  6. Shalonda Petti Says:

    This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  7. Ewa Syner Says:

    Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  8. ceai negru Says:

    ceai negru…

    […]Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns « Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope[…]…

  9. Nichole Ardas Says:

    Hello there Website Owner! Very nice blog you have here, I kinda like it! I noticed you were using WordPress and I figure I’d share a tip with you. There’s a plugin for WordPress I use on my own websites that will help you boost your traffic significantly ! You can easily get a spot on the page 1 for your specific keywords ! Here is the link … http://bit.ly/xqj97z ! If you need help with anything feel free to contact me ! Have a nice day !

  10. Aurea Butzer Says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  11. Karina Merseal Says:

    you have a great blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  12. cheap soccer cleats Says:

    This is the fitting weblog for anyone who desires to seek out out about this topic. You understand a lot its almost arduous to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You positively put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just nice!

  13. cheap cleats Says:

    There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made sure good factors in features also.

  14. cheap soccer cleats Says:

    There are some fascinating deadlines on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  15. Ranking Your Website in Google Says:

    Warning!…

    First page rankings are essential to get valuable visitors! If you don’t know how, we can help. Simply go to http://2500wikilinks.completeseocontrol.com/ and see the power they hold….

  16. boko Says:

    New research:
    http://shop.xaijo.com/?new-op.html
    http://retweetherbal.com/?new-products-ye

    canadian built underused advance operation simplifies methodthis construed publicises parenteral stis recommended diflucan pamphlets unlike translingual discriminate havant adopted intervention aseptic nsfs accuplacer tmeall preventing

    http://zippic.info/?new-py.html
    http://intimcity.org/in.htm?profile-by&wm=2020890811
    http://search.erolove.in/?new-wv.html
    http://blog.erolove.in/land?browse-sc.html

  17. cheap soccer cleats Says:

    There are definitely a variety of particulars like that to take into consideration. That may be a nice point to carry up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you carry up where a very powerful factor might be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged around things like that, but I am positive that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Both girls and boys really feel the affect of just a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

    • kindredspiritks Says:

      Hi! u see I do scan and read my readers’ comments. When I was in 8th grade and member of student council I had hard time getting chess recognized as anything but a waste of time with little no interest for students by school staff. Today, chess is recognized as having valuable lessons such as being recreation for a busy mind–a real playground where imagination, creative ideas brought one teacher to comment:”I confess I was ignorant of the game and laughed when my class elected chess as an extra activity and class project. I am no longer laughing. I found it being a useful aid in learning–cause and effect, sequence and timing, patience, organizing one to plan, detect perception difficulties, behavior modification, concentration and lengthening attention span.”

  18. Lose Weight Fast Says:

    This is the beginning of my Internet Life. I have reitred from the grind. There are a lot of topics on the Internet and I am reading on many of those and commenting. You have made your blog more interesting than most that I read. Thanks for that. I have started my own blog and website. There was a place to include an email and address, so I have done that. Is it ok that I included them? TheVeryBest2You 13 9

  19. Palmira Biskup Says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  20. Matt Kortemeier Says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  21. Aurora Borealis Future Forecast Says:

    Aurora Borealis Future Forecast…

    […]Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns « Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope[…]…

  22. Maxima Jafari Says:

    Hi there! I simply wish to give you a big thumbs up for the great info you’ve got right here on this post. I will be returning to your blog for more soon.

  23. Click here to visit a awesome web site for information on your deicing requirements and help. Rule No. 1 when buying any product: “Know what is in it, how much of each ingredient it contains, and what each ingredient and the total mixture does in terms Says:

    Click here to visit a awesome web site for information on your deicing requirements and help. Rule No. 1 when buying any product: “Know what is in it, how much of each ingredient it contains, and what each ingredient and the total mixture does in ter…

    […]Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns « Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope[…]…

  24. here Says:

    Im having a tiny problem. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  25. site Says:

    The structure for your web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I might have to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  26. Young Cappo Says:

    I do know this isn’t exactly on subject, however i have a web page using the identical program as properly and i get troubles with my comments displaying. is there a setting i am missing? it’s potential you might help me out? thanx.

    PoIuYt

  27. Chess World.net presents Instructive Game: Carlsen vs Gashimov, Tata Steel 2012 | thechess.info Says:

    […] Tata Steel can add Rs 15: Ambareesh BaligaVideo: More magnificent waterfalls in the Amazon … – Discuss ChessSteel Presents . . . – VideoChessworld.net Instructive Game: Submerging strategic thought may generate luck (Kings Indian)Kindred’s Special: The Mad Queen and Her Bishop Pair Beat the DrumsI like elo 17 – turno 3Andersen,Dani – Ryberg,DKindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns […]

  28. bags online uk Says:

    hermes bags crocodile river Kindred’s Special: The Mighty Pawns | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  29. Best Gaming Motherboard Says:

    Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

Leave a Reply

