Kindred’s Special: QGD– Exchange Variation featuring Minority Attack and Defensive Strategy

During your chess adventures you will most likely come up against the old and famous weapon for White, namely the Minority Attack which occurs in the QGD Exchange Variation. I first met this idea when studying a beautiful win in the hands of GM Larry Evans who won a positional masterpiece and whose notes brought considerable attention.  As in most cases, such well played games  find themselves in print for audience appreciation and tend toward optimistic evaluations and lack offering better ideas for Black’s defensive resources.  Such coverage in those early days coincided with the evolution of modern day printing.  Space was limited and the key idea of writers was to present a game highlighting the combative spirit of the combatants.  It was felt that too much analysis and over indepth notes would lessen the impact of the game’s  beauty, whether it be positional, attacks or defense.  There were examples but tournaments were infrequent and news coverage limited of complete game scores found in the tournament book or chess magazines.

Our opening emerges from 1. d4  d5  2. c4  e6  3. Nc3  Nf6  4.Bg5 Nbd7  5. e3  Be7  6. cxd5  exd5  7. Bd3  c6  8. Qc2  O-O  9. Nf3  Re8  10. O-O  g6  11. Rab1 Nh5.

GM Erich Eliskases, a powerful correspondence player as well as over-the-board, developed a system to combat this dangerous setup and plan; his pupil IM Guillermo Soppe co-authored with Raul Grosso an interesting book, Erich Eliskases, Gentleman of Chess, and thus was born the Eliskases-Soppe System.

The jump move plan by White of b4 >b5>bxc6 with the idea of weakening the c6 and d5 pawn structure which has over time proven to be tough to defend, leaving White an initiative with space advantage on the Q-side. Eliskases developed a defensive plan based upon exchange of the black-square Bishops,  reducing the danger of dark squares created by g6, having the Q on e7 to strike and pressure the Q-side. As pieces lessen, Eliskases’ aim is to eventually get his King to d6 where it may present some chances for infiltrating on the Q-side.

Against Pedro Martin, Mar del Plata 1951, the play went… 12. Bxe7  Qxe7  13. b4  a6  14. a4  Nb6

The key tactical idea here is to meet 15. b5  axb5  16. axb5 c5! 17.dxc5  Qxc5 Here Larry Evans tried 18. Nd4  Bd7 19. Rbc1  Rec8 Eliskases won in 53 moves.

18.Rfc1  Bg4  19. Ne2  Qxc2  20. Bxc2 Bxf3  21. gxf3  Rec8  22. Nd4  Nf6  23. Ra1  Nfd7

Black’s Knights dominate the position and Black eventually won the game.

Of course there are different plans. Other moves tried are 12. h3  Nb6  13. Qb3  Nh5  14. Bxe7  Rxe7  15. Rfe1  Ng7  16. e4  dxe4  17. Nxe4  Be6  18. Qa3 Rc7 drawn vs. Najdorf.

Here, my intention is to show a fairly good opening method to meeting the dangerous minority attack launched by White. It is by no means the end in itself.  If you want to improve, then you should investigate by research and practice different approaches when meeting this system from either side.

31 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: QGD– Exchange Variation featuring Minority Attack and Defensive Strategy”

  1. trade in value for games Says:

    trade in value for games…

    Kindred’s Special: QGD– Exchange Variation featuring Minority Attack and Defensive Strategy « Kindred’s Kaleidoscope…

  2. hotshot bald cop Says:

    Interesting views concerning that!

  3. 123 test Says:

    Hey are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  4. test1234 Says:

    Greetings I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  5. louis vuitton outlets online Says:

    louis vuitton outlet ny Kindred’s Special: QGD– Exchange Variation featuring Minority Attack and Defensive Strategy | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope
    louis vuitton outlets online http://www.withtimeforyou.com

  6. portugal hermes Says:

    hermes bags amazon 32 tv Kindred’s Special: QGD– Exchange Variation featuring Minority Attack and Defensive Strategy | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  7. Rubye Bosarge Says:

    I guess I should fill something out although I’m here visiting. Many thanks for putting up excellent stuff. It’s asking for a internet internet site here when I am posting this, so here’s one that I used to be just checking out. Take treatment.

  8. Erik Burlew Says:

    Thanks for that data.br /Found your internet site on Google whilst searching after cambr /information.

  9. marina one Singapore residences Says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

  10. new marina one residences Says:

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who has been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I stumbled upon it
    for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this matter here on your web
    page.

  11. Marina One Says:

    I blog often and I truly appreciate your content.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark
    your website and keep checking for new information about once
    per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  12. marina one Singapore residences Says:

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was entirely
    right. This submit truly made my day. You
    can not imagine just how a lot time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  13. Dien dan du lich Says:

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress
    because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at
    options for another platform. I would be
    fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  14. Binh Thien An Says:

    Marvelous, what a web site it is! This weblog presents helpful data to us,
    keep it up.

  15. WordPress Themes Says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the web the easiest
    thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do
    not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  16. download game hien vien kiem Says:

    A motivating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you
    need to publish more on this subject matter, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people don’t discuss such issues.
    To the next! Best wishes!!

    • kindredspiritks Says:

      I assume you refer to articles that might be of interest to readers of this article. There is a love/hate relationship of any topic under discussion–any place, any where. I like to say it is a critique worth thought.-Don.

  17. Bobbye Getson Says:

    Auto loanshave considerably shorter terms than traditional loans and interest charges are lower as
    well Bobbye Getson this makes borrowing cheaper; therefore
    they are not as likely to start defaulting on payments again.

  18. ロングチェア150ブラウン65137【送 Says:

    サンタイム Alabama Birmingham

  19. 和食器ミ163-015炭化土舟形長鉢【変形大 Says:

    ーカー 音楽 ヘッドフォン ヘッドホン 音楽 マイク

  20. 】ボンメールスル Says:

    サンタイム Arkans

  21. エンドミル テーパ φ0 Says:

    Cover for Ipho

  22. 間が無く大変便利です Says:

    http://www.neergabby.org.au/jepoin.asp?list52=4001
    間が無く大変便利です http://www.rightmovephysiotherapy.com.au/jepoin.asp?list9=4001

  23. sinart 加熱ミキ Says:

    Fossil Thre

  24. キャスター 重荷重用キャスター (株 Says:

    4.7 Inch Hot

  25. メフルターンソケットハ Says:

    http://allerforddrivingschool.co.uk/jepoin.asp?list52=1002
    メフルターンソケットハ http://aneye4beauty.afreeadam.com/jepoin.asp?list51=1002

  26. 置物植木鉢入れお花や Says:

    http://cis407.bankheadnet.net/jepoin.asp?list51=1002
    置物植木鉢入れお花や http://asr-news.com/jepoin.asp?list57=1002

  27. トクックS型S-3C13A Says:

    ースJIAXIUFEN Red TelePhon

  28. WATCO(ワト Says:

    cta Men’s 13

  29. YH45CANT】 Says:

    e Glasses Set of 8 ワイン ブランド

  30. ナチュラルポイントカラー(ブラシタイプ染 Says:

    d World

Leave a Reply

