Kindred’s Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess

The evolution of chess thought: two giants, each authoring a true classic on how to study and develop skill and understanding, were not of modern vintage but both have been an influence on the long road to chess mastery. Writing of personal experience was the gift to me of Mrs. Bebernitz who was my highschool English teacher. I lived within this glass globe unable to wrest myself from the lure of chess gamesmanship and testament of the truth.  The opportunities of modern technology and varied ways in which chess instructors coach, of a variety of books on the subject that further enriches the mind battling on the sixty-four square board; finally, software chess programs allow chess students to achieve training and experience not previously possible. Speed at chess play forces the mind to think fast with intuitive recognition of patterns as they develop. Throughout the annuals of chess literature the pens of numerous chess figures have endeavored to help enlighten readers with critical thought in analysis, report on tournaments, to better understand the play as they perceive it and a number of treatises having emerged on the scene with such attempt at clarification and the hope of achieving some financial reward in sales for years of dedication given the game.

What are the two authors that influenced whole generations of chessplayers? (Dr.) S. Tarrasch wrote the German masterpiece, THE GAME OF CHESS that prescribed his method how to study the game with the best opportunity to master it’s complex nature, that is by reverse order of endgame first, then middlegame, and finally the opening. Then along came Dr. A. Nimzowitsch who authored MY SYSTEM and followed up with his CHESS PRAXIS, with the intention of challenging the credibilty of Tarrasch’s method that had swept Europe and the world of chess.  I studied these books in the above order, having secretly invaded my older brother’s personal library with the help of my mom. That early saga of my life appears elsewhere.  I suggest reading and studying these classics will add fire to your furnace in battle royale.

One should never quit seeking out great teaching books.  I have personal joy from studying Edward Lasker’s CHESS STRATEGY, Richard Reti’s MASTERS OF THE CHESSBOARD, and C.J.S. PURDY–HIS LIFE, HIS GAMES and HIS WRITINGS, by J. Hammond and R. Jamieson.  which I consider to be in that category of the previous mentioned. Of course there are a host of worthy books but if you study the above, I can guarantee you will be ahead of the vast majority of the players you meet and with deeper understanding of the game. Perhaps the greatest gift of these books is an appreciation of the chess struggle.

9 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess”

  1. Kindred's Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess … | Chess IQ Says:

    […] the original: Kindred's Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess … Filed Under: General Tagged With: classic-on-how, develop-skill, each-authoring, […]

  2. diablo 3 beta key Says:

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  3. 123 test Says:

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful blog!

    • kindredspiritks Says:

      Colorado?! Let me give you some advice. Don’t smoke or use pot–the big M. One of my club members used it and it ruined his life for a long time and wrecked his chess skill before it had fully developed. /Don.

  4. test1234 Says:

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  5. cheap hermes bags Says:

    hermes bags cost less auto parts Kindred’s Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  6. shop hermes bags Says:

    hermes bags cost 1 oz silver Kindred’s Special: The Systematic Way to Understanding Chess | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  7. Antony Baugess Says:

    Hi, the first letter was sent to my billing address, not my shipping address. I don’t know if it is just me or other persons had this problem but I just wanted to let you guys know. It was definitely disappointing not getting the letter where I am appropriate now!

Leave a Reply

