Kindred’s Special: Not Just Another Book Review–THE TAO OF CHESS

I find myself often at BARNES & NOBLE  where I love to browse hoping to find something that stirs my thirst for the adventure that an author’s talent finds appealing to my own soul. I braved the downpour this one evening and found myself with umbrella in-hand determined to wait out the storm inside the halls of my favorite bookstore. In recent visits I alway avoided the game section because the chess books disappeared with an ever increasing supply of gambling books of all kinds. But a long search of varied topical sections, I was drawn finally to give the game section one more quick look having failed to settle upon a book to purchase. Lo and Behold! Sitting there wedged between two popular books I saw this rather thin paperback whose binder simply read THE TAO OF CHESS.  I pulled it from the shelf and the cover simply read: THE TAO OF CHESS–200 Principles to Transform Your Game and Your Life.  The author was a chess master. The author was Peter Kurzdorfer. The publisher Adams Media, Avon, Massachusetts drew a blank in my library of books. Turning it over to the backside, I read what really turned me on to buy it, BE A WINNER AT HOME, AT WORK, AND ON THE CHESSBOARD!

What appealed to me scanning those richly filled 242 pages was the close comparison with my own views on chess and how it has enriched my own understanding of life. The commingling reward one receives from chess and life is in direct proportion to our study and work ethic toward achieving goals and purpose. “That is TAO!”–Peter Kurzdorfer.

My own theories on chess to understand the board, the relationship of squares, of my own SQUARE COUNT, my exchange and mobility values that differ from that in printed books, and use as a tool to map the ups and downs of a chess battle all came from my own search for truth in chessic understanding. In that, I discovered the close relationship between chess and life itself and how, if used properly, can be linked toward a full appreciation of Life and Chess.

The author presents 42 chapters in which 200 Principle Themes are presented with a diagram to illustrate each principle discussed. He ties into the discussion a product of both chess and life experience. It is well written, easy to read and study from either a short or long read. Perhaps I might suggest that it just may fill an up to this point void in your chess development. His ideas are uniquely his.

I rate this book as highly recommended and give it a 5! Cover price is $9.95.

Be a winner at home, at work, and on the chessboard!

8 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: Not Just Another Book Review–THE TAO OF CHESS”

  1. Al MacLeod Says:

    Greetings,

    I was an active chess player for many years, but haven’t played competitive or club chess in many years. I was looking for an old dear friend of mine whom I knew back in the day. He was a decent chess player and a pretty good friend as we used to “hang out” as they say not only in chess clubs but socially as well.

    The last I heard he retired from Microsoft I believe (that’s what I was told anyway) back around the mid 1990’s and moved back to England. The nice fellow I spoke with didn’t have his address or contact number but said he moved back to West Yorkshire or Leeds. He told me to try and Google him which I did but the closest I cam up with was a forum I say with the name of Barry Foster highlighted and Kindred Spirits and Chess was mentioned. I am wondering if you are the same person who was in that thread back in 2009 where there was a discussion of science.

    Anyway, I know it’s a shot in the dark but I would be grateful if you would provide me with a contact email or an address where I can write to him if you know the gentleman of whom I speak. I remember he had a young teenage son living in Australia back in the late 70’s who came to Washington, DC and Barry introduced me to him, For the life of me I can’t remember his name. I did see him again though in a chess tournament becausehis dad (Barry) had introduced him to our great game. That was a nice to see.

    Well my fellow chess friend, that’s about it. I hope you can help me or lead me in the right direction where I can hopefully make contact with my old friend again. He’s actually a little older than me (I’m 60 trying to forget I will be 61 soon haha). I will leave my email address if you are still active in blogging and see this email. I would be grateful if you would reply to me at your convenience to let me know where I can start to look for my old buddy. It’s like playing Kriegspiel Chess at this point (boy those were fun days!),

    Kindest Regards,

    Al MacLeod

    PS-I found your article Very Interesting concerning the book THE TAO OF CHESS!

    • John Christy Says:

      Hello Al, John Christy here, fondly remembering those days I played on your Capablanca chess team. I too have been out of chess for many years, but this year am going back! Someone told me you are out of the USA now. Would love to see you, or if that can’t be, correspond. You can reach me via my late wife’s Website: John@AldethSpenceChristy.org

      I guess you won’t see this since your post goes back a while. But if anyone sees it who can forward it to you, I shall appreciate it.

      Sorry I have no info for the old friend you mention.

      • kindredspiritks Says:

        Dear Father in Heaven! Bring us closer into the arms of Jesus who taught his disciples and each of us how to pray. In that end, the zest for Life Joys may be experienced./Don.

  2. diablo 3 beta key Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different website and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

  3. The Tao Chess 200 Principles Says:

    […] Kindred's Special: Not Just Another Book Review–THE TAO OF … Sitting there wedged between two popular books I saw this rather thin paperback whose binder simply read THE TAO OF CHESS. I pulled it from the shelf and the cover simply read: THE TAO OF CHESS–200 Principles to . […]

  4. finland hermes Says:

    hermes bags jobs Kindred’s Special: Not Just Another Book Review–THE TAO OF CHESS | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  5. handbags online sale Says:

    hermes bags black gossip Kindred’s Special: Not Just Another Book Review–THE TAO OF CHESS | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  6. bat 44582 003 Says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we
    have created some nice methods and we are looking
    to trade methods with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail
    if interested.

Leave a Reply

