Kindred’s Special: I Am Not Alone to the Loss of my Queen!

I like to play blitz chess at 1 0 while I listen to the radio. Recently I lost my Queen in a winning position by stupidly letting it get trapped. Oh, well, I thought “I am just a patzer in blitz play.”

Salvation? I recently took up the book I bought from Barnes & Noble called The Art of Planning in Chess–Move by Move. The author is the well known Neil McDonald. On page 46 appears a game between A. Istraescu and L. Ftacnik, 2005 played at Khanty Mansyisk. The opening is one of my favorites: The English Opening.

1.c4  Nf6  2.Nf3  c5  3.Nc3 e6  4.g3 b6  5.Bg2 Bb7 6.O-O  Be7 7.b3  O-O 8.Bb2  d6  9.e3  Nbd7 10.Qe2  Qc7  11.Rac1  a6  12.Rfd1 Bc6 13.d4  Qb7  14.h4  Rac8  15.d5!

Hey! Wait just a minute. That d5 square is covered 4-times so is this for real?

15…exd5  16.cxd5  Nxd5?

McDonald says the only way to fight is by …Bb4 which drops a pawn. The text leads to a bizzare finish.

17.Nxd5  Bxd5  18.Rxd5!  Qxd5  19.Ng5

Now the advance h4 made earlier is made clear. The Knight is guarded and exposes the Queen to the Bishop threat.

19…Qf5  20.Be4  Black resigns 1-0).
Yes, it is only human to error. So I guess I sit here with some feeling of remorse for the black player. At this level, it must have been a shock to go down the result of a pawn push to d5.
Pawns are the soul of chess. In this game it is so true.
2 Responses to “Kindred’s Special: I Am Not Alone to the Loss of my Queen!”

  1. diablo 3 beta Says:

    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. test1234 Says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

