Kindred’s Special: Mixing Pins with Chess

Every so often I find inspiration to write poetry and besides my interest for chess, I love to bowl. In fact, I captain a team holding first place at the top of a 32 team league at Empire Lanes. I have been involved in bowling for several years and in all that time I have seen little or no innovations or even stimulus to promote the game other than for open bowling or tournaments. I suddenly got the poetry bug again and decided to try to flavor bowling with a bit humor and wit.

                                 BOWLING BALL SERENADE

ONE FOR THE MONEY, TWO TO SHOW, PICK THAT SPARE, AND GO TEAM GO! PICK ME UP, LAY ME DOWN. GIVE ME LIFT SO MY ROLL IS SOUND. DOWN THE LANE I SKID AND SLIDE, OOPHS! I HIT DRY AND MY ANGLE’S HIGH. LEFT THE TEN PIN STANDING TALL, THAT LAZY SIX PIN OFF THE WALL, WOW! THAT FOUR PIN WASN’T TOUCHED AT ALL. BACK IN RETURN, WAITING CALL. MY BOSS KNOWS ME WELL. CAN’T LET DOWN I PRAY TO TELL. WITH SKILL OR LUCK HE SENT ME SIDESWIPING THE FOUR AND INTO THE TEN PIN IT FLEW. A SPARE! A WONDERFUL SAVE! AN ADJUSTMENT MADE, A FIRM LIFT FEELS TINGLING GOOD! DOWN THE LANE I GO AND I HEAR THE SHOUT STRIKE LOUD AND CLEAR! ALL TEN PINS DOWN IN RUMBLING FEAR. A T T/A C K: ATTACK THE LANE, YOUR IN CHARGE! TIME TO MOVE!! THAT’S THE BOSS TALKING, DUDE! FROM A BAG OF TRICKS I WANT TO STAY BEST FRIENDS AND PROVE TO THE BOSS “I AM THE COMEBACK KID”. LIKE ALL THINGS, A MATCH MUST END. IN THE BAG I GO. RESTING UP FOR THE NEXT BIG SHOW! AND THERE IS ONE BEST PLACE TO BOWL, WHERE I PERFORM MY MAGIC ROLL!

What else can be accomplished in a bowling center where a fairly good number of enthusiasts engage in friendly play? Here is a suggestion. If you have a bowling buddy or girlfried who shares your interest for chess as well, try bringing in your set and board. Set up the men and play a game using the following idea of mine or make up your own.

The one who goes first on the lanes plays the white side and the moves are made as follows: with each spare or strike, you get to move on the chessboard. Hence, you might find one side might move two or three times in a row. To avoid a checkmate, the opponent can avert the mate by moving even when there is no spare or strike for that side to otherwise avert it. Even black can move first in the game!

I have a feeling that a number of folks will come around to view what is going on especially if you slap hands, hug or whatever to gain further attention.

What a way to get the public to view a chess battle in progress! 

One Response to “Kindred’s Special: Mixing Pins with Chess”

  1. hermes white Says:

    hermes bags blog 4d Kindred’s Special: Mixing Pins with Chess | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

Leave a Reply

