How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction

In 1995 I had the opportunity to battle with Gary Wallace from Pierre, SD in a titanic struggle of an offbeat opening system that Gary decided to try against me. I had never seen it before but decided to try to just play logically. I was in for a little surprise due to the fact that this offered black some sizzling play in the opening but as time went on, the white forces repelled and then conducted a winning central operation.

DR (KindredSpirit) white; Gary Wallace black; Irregular Def.

     1.e4 g5 This shocked me a bit but I said to myself “calm down now and use your training and look for a logical means of developing. I knew Gary had good results and so I had to assume his ploy possessed some poison. The question was: Just how much poison!

     2.d4  Bg7 3.Bxg5  c5 4.Nf3  Qb6 5.Nbd2 cxd4 6.Nb3 Nc6 7.a4 e5 8.a5 Qc7 9.Nfd2 d6 Black can congratulate himself on this position which is dynamic and imbalance seemed to me an interesting turn of events and Gary’s ultimate hope.

     10.Bc4 h6 11.Bh4 Bf6 12.Bxf6 Nxf6 13.c3 dxc3 14. bxc3 The point I was aiming for with this exchange was to defend b4 and d4 with the c pawn and open lines.

     14…Bg4 15.f3 Bh5 16.a6 b6 17.Bb5 Ke7 18.Qe2 Rac8 19.c4 Nd7 Frankly probably both sides are fairly happy with their game plan. I now spent nearly a half hour deciding on a course of redeploying my forces and trying to create some threats. A look at the following several moves seems to verify the progress white makes while black seemed to struggle with a good way to equal that redeployment. Consequently my long-range idea was to build up threats basically using the central complex as a springboard.

     20.Qf2 f6 21.0-0 Rcf8 22.Rfe1 Bg6 23.Nf1 Nd8 24.Ne3 Kf7 25.Nd5 Qc8 26.Qh4 Nc6 27.f4 exf4 28.Qxf4 Re8 Note how white square count is beginning to affect the position.

     29.Qxd6 Ncb8 30.Qf4 Re6 31.Re3 Qd8 32.Nd4 Re5 33.Bxd7 Nxd7 34.Nc6 Qc7?? 35.Nxc7 Resigns 1-0. Black must have suffered depression at this development and wanted to end it in order to find new paths to explore.

     What can be gained from this game? First, I did not provide much analysis especially in the opening because it is quite unfamiliar to me even as to what the black objective is other than to offer the g-pawn in exchange for rapid development in the center counter action by c5 and Qb6 with the B pointing down that long diagonal. I try to always play with a plan, not necessarily the best but sufficient to keep the play in my own grasp from practice, learning and study. You may therefore explore other ideas for both sides and any questions or suggestions are welcome and I promise to respond to those.

21 Responses to “How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction”

  1. Gary Wallace Says:

    Hello.. Trying to search my memory, but sorry can’t pull your name out.

    I have since been trying to play as white, 1.b4..having lots of fun with it.
    My goal in chess is to have fun, like I say, even when I lose, I can enjoy chess.

    As Black..I have been trying counter gambits, as I am a “gambiteer”. Some in the club, call me a “fruit basket player” I like to mix it up..

    The above game was fun, but I still don’t know why I made my 34th move then? Now I could blame it on old age..!! Drop me a line.. Stay well, Gary

  2. diablo 3 beta download Says:

    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. 123 test Says:

    Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. test1234 Says:

    Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  5. wholesale bags Says:

    How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  6. replica large gucci bags Says:

    fake gucci joy bag How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  7. celine dion fake pregnancy Says:

    celine paris replica How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  8. imitation hermes birkin bag Says:

    hermes replica 2012 How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  9. celine outlet reggello Says:

    fake celine purses How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  10. hermes birkin replica handbags uk Says:

    authentic vs fake hermes birkin How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  11. replica gucci luggage sets Says:

    fake gucci bag uk How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  12. celine outlet italy Says:

    celine replica handbags paypal How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  13. replica celine cabas bag Says:

    cheap tickets celine dion How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  14. replica hermes bag Says:

    replica hermes mens wallet How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  15. replica celine bags uk Says:

    celine outlet europe How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  16. celine tasche replica Says:

    replica celine designer handbags How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  17. where to buy fake celine bags Says:

    cheap celine luggage tote How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  18. celine replica reviews Says:

    celine fake print bag How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  19. celine outlet in paris Says:

    replica celine luggage tote How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  20. hermes fake Says:

    hermes factory outlet europe How to Play Chess: Facing a New Opening Reaction | Kindred\’s Kaleidoscope

  21. club penguin cancel your membership Says:

    I have been examinating out a few of your stories and
    i can state nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark
    your blog.

Leave a Reply

